The number of couples I see here in the hotel bar

The number of couples I see here in the hotel bar, and they sit there for an hour or so, and never exchange a single word with each other. Just eventually they quietly get up and leave together in the same silence they had sat. If only me & my wife could have had this kind of relationship. It does seem rather sad, but one presumes they are happy? I remember an American couple I saw in the Porcupine one day. The man was keenly looking through his London maps and his museum guides, playing his next visit, but next to him his wife just sat there with shoulders slumped, staring into space, wondering what happened to her life. Our eyes met a few times; she was pretty and curvy and I felt quite hungry for her. She looked like the schoolmaster’s wife in If who cures her boredom by walking around the school stark naked; and like the Girl at the Bar of the Folies Bergeres.
Leave a Reply

