Thus equipped, I set off like Shackleton on my voyage with great hopes.

Thus equipped, I set off like Shackleton on my voyage with great hopes. Before long the ice will crush my Endurance and I will be forced to scramble just to survive and get back home again, but one must always keep setting out on the journey. I think maybe I will start tomorrow. It is very very cold now. Everywhere is white with a coating of ice. Britain has always had an inordinate number of polar explorers and the theory is that coming from a very moderate climate we had no idea just how cold it was going to be when we got there. Britain is quite cold all the time so that made us think we could take it, having no idea quite how much colder it was possible for weather to get. People from colder climates knew better than to even attempt it. Even when one loses one’s map and compass it is still possible to navigate by the stars, though it is often too cloudy. I thought I could be on my own and I would be fine. I would like it. I had just no idea how cold it is possible for cold to get.
g1_u8335_shackleton1
Leave a Reply

