As I suspected this is one of the busiest Eurostars I’ve ever been on

As I suspected this is one of the busiest Eurostars I’ve ever been on. Note to self—don’t return home Sunday morning in future. The taxi took me down a route I’d never been before: straight down the Rue Royale past the old Museum of Modern Art (now the Magritte and Fin de Siecle etc); I didn’t realise if you carry on down this road it also takes you straight past the Cathedral and straight up to my Holy of Holies, the Justice Palace. Largest building built anywhere in the world in the 19th Century and visible from just about everywhere in Brussels. As always the eternal question, why did such a small country as Belgium and small city as Brussels feel the need to build such a massive Justice Palace? What sins and guilts did they feel they needed to expunge from their souls? It sits on the edge of the great cliff cutting Brussels in two, like the great rift valley in Mexico said to have been opened up the moment Jesus was crucified. From Place Louise down Boulevard de Waterloo, Rue de Russie, and through the middle of the Midi Sunday market to the station.
Leave a Reply

