I am pretty sure I have walked through Place Rouppe on my way to Le Coin but had no idea of its historical significance (where Verlaine tried to shoot Rimbaud a second time)

I am pretty sure I have walked through Place Rouppe, on my way to Le Coin, but had no idea of its historical significance (where Verlaine tried to shoot Rimbaud a second time); and I’ve been to Rue des Cendres once or twice visiting that awful little hostess bar which has gone by various names; have probably even been along Rue de la Montagne; but I never realised the historical significance of these streets I am walking. It adds so much excitement to just walking down a street to know the artistic heroes who have walked the same street before. This is how INTELLIGENCE and KNOWLEDGE make life more pleasurable. How thin life must seem for dumb, ignorant, mentally lazy people. I cannot imagine it.
Leave a Reply

